Women's Basketball Coaches Select All-Conference Team
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/01/2010
Print RSS
Hollinquest captured her second Player of the Year selection.
Courtesy: Southern Conference
SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Chattanooga senior forward Shanara Hollinquest was tabbed by the Southern Conference women's basketball coaches as the league's Player of the Year for the second consecutive year. The group also selected a 10-member All-Conference team, a five-player All-Freshman Team and five superlative awards.

Hollinquest led the conference in scoring, averaging 16.7 points per game and helped the Lady Mocs to a 21-8 overall record and their 11th consecutive regular season title. A native of Sylacauga, Ala., Hollinquest also ranked first in the league in rebounding with 8.8 per game, while averaging a conference-leading 3.8 offensive rebounds per contest.

College of Charleston's Tonia Gerty was named the SoCon Defensive Player of the Year. The junior guard from Port Orange, Fla., tallied 56 steals on the season and helped College of Charleston record the second-lowest field goal percentage defense in the league (.375).

Joining Hollinquest and Gerty on the all-conference team were Appalachian State's Sam Ramirez, Chattanooga's Jenaya Wade-Fray, Davidson's Alex Thompson, Elon's Ali Ford, Furman's Lee Stephens, Samford teammates Emily London and Savannah Hill, as well as Western Carolina's Emily Clarke.

Elon's Ford also earned Freshman of the Year honors after leading the league's freshmen in scoring (16.2 PPG) and assists (3.0). The guard from Morganton, N.C., also ranked first in the conference in three-point field goals, averaging 2.7 per contest. Ford started all 29 of Elon's games and the led the Phoenix in scoring 19 times. She scored in double-figures in 25 games, including each of the last 17 contests.

Ford was named to the All-Freshman team along with Appalachian State duo Ashlen Dewart and Anna Freeman, Chattanooga's Kayla Christopher and Davidson's Sophia Aleksandravicius.

Appalachian State head coach Darcie Vincent was honored by her peers as Coach of the Year. Vincent led the Mountaineers to an 18-11 overall record and a 14-6 league mark in her second year as head coach. The 18 overall wins and 14 conference victories are the most for ASU since the 1995-96 season .The Mountaineers finished the season with an 8-6 overall mark at home, and the eight wins tied a school record.

Megan Wilderotter, a guard from New Orleans, La., was named the recipient of the Ann Lashley Inspiration Award. This award honors a student-athlete or coach who has shown outstanding courage or service. It is presented in memory of former Elon women's basketball associate head coach Ann Lashley, who passed away on November 10, 2005 after a six-month battle with Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma. Wilderotter suffered a torn ACL during the 2007-08 season and since her return has helped Samford earn a second-place finish in both years it has been a member of the conference.

2009-10 Southern Conference Coaches All-Conference Team
Sam Ramirez, Appalachian State
Tonia Gerty, College of Charleston
Shanara Hollinquest, Chattanooga
Jenaya Wade-Fray, Chattanooga
Alex Thompson, Davidson
Ali Ford, Elon
Lee Stephens, Furman
Savannah Hill, Samford
Emily London, Samford
Emily Clarke, Western Carolina

All-Freshman Team
Ashlen Dewart, Appalachian State
Anna Freeman, Appalachian Sate
Kayla Christopher, Chattanooga
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson
Ali Ford, Elon

Player of the Year
Shanara Hollinquest, Chattanooga

Defensive Player of the Year
Tonia Gerty, College of Charleston

Freshman of the Year
Ali Ford, Elon

Coach of the Year,
Darcie Vincent, Appalachian State

Ann Lashley Inspiration Award
Megan Wilderotter, Samford

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (W)
2018 Women's Basketball Championship Highlights
Basketball (W)
2017 Women's Basketball Championship: UTCvsMER
Basketball (W)
2017 Women's Basketball Press Conference
Basketball (W)
Connect with SoConSports