SoCon Media Names Player, Freshman of the Year
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/02/2010
Print RSS
The media selected UTC's Shanara Hollinquest as Player of the Year for the second consecutive time.
Courtesy: Southern Conference
SPARTANBURG, S.C. - The Southern Conference Sports Media Association (SCSMA) has selected the 2009-10 all-conference team. The group also honored Chattanooga's Shanara Hollinquest as Player of the Year and Elon's Ali Ford as Freshman of the Year. Darcie Vincent of Appalachian State was named Coach of the Year.

Hollinquest averaged 16.7 points and 8.8 rebounds to lead the league and helped the Lady Mocs to their record 11th-straight conference regular season title. The junior forward from Sylacauga, Ala., also posted a conference-leading mark of 3.8 offensive rebounds per contest. It is the second consecutive season in which Hollinquest has been honored by the SCSMA as player of the year, and she is the fifth Chattanooga player in as many years to achieve the feat. Her former teammate Alex Anderson was also honored twice (2007, 2008).

Joining Hollinquest on the All-Conference first team is teammate Jenaya Wade-Fray, College of Charleston's Tonia Gerty, Elon's Ali Ford and Samford's Emily London.

Wade-Fray averaged 13.3 points per game, while pulling down 5.9 rebounds per contest. Gerty led the league in assists, dishing out 5.2 per game. She also recorded a conference-leading 1.6 assist-to-turnover ratio.

London was tops in the league in both free throw (.904) and three-point field goal percentage (.492). She ranked in the top five nationally in three-point field-goal shooting and the top 10 in free throw shooting.

Ford picked up both all-conference and Freshman of the Year honors. This season she connected on a conference-leading 2.7 three-point field goals per game. The Morganton, N.C., native also led Elon in scoring 19 times. She scored in double figures in 25 games, including the last 17, while also posting 11 games with 20 points or more. Ford led the conference's freshmen in scoring and assists.

The All-Conference second team includes the trio of Ashlen Dewart, Anna Freeman and Sam Ramirez from Appalachian State, Davidson's Alex Thompson and Samford's Savannah Hill.

The SCSMA selected Appalachian State's Darcie Vincent as Coach of the Year. In her second year at the helm at ASU, the Mountaineers won 18 games overall and 14 conference contests. Both win totals were the highest since the 1995-96 season. ASU's eight wins on its home floor this season matched a school record.


2009-10 SCSMA All-Southern Conference Team
First Team
Tonia Gerty, College of Charleston
Shanara Hollinquest, Chattanooga
Jenaya Wade-Fray, Chattanooga
Ali Ford, Elon
Emily London, Samford

Second Team
Ashlen Dewart, Appalachian State
Anna Freeman, Appalachian State
Sam Ramirez, Appalachian State
Alex Thompson, Davidson
Savannah Hill, Samford

Player of the Year
Shanara Hollinquest, Chattanooga

Freshman of the Year
Ali Ford, Elon

Coach of the Year
Darcie Vincent, Appalachian State

SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (W)
2018 Women's Basketball Championship Highlights
Basketball (W)
2017 Women's Basketball Championship: UTCvsMER
Basketball (W)
2017 Women's Basketball Press Conference
Basketball (W)
Connect with SoConSports