2008 Men's Tennis Championship
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/12/2008
Print RSS
Courtesy: -


Location: Earle Tennis Center at The Citadel & Farmfield Tennis Center; Charleston, SC

Dates: April 17-20

Host: The Citadel

There is no charge for the tournament.

Tournament Bracket


The Schedule

Thursday, April 17-at Farmfield Tennis Center

Match 1: #9 College of Charleston 4, #9 Chattanooga 2 box score PHOTOS

Match 2: #7 Georgia Southern 4, #10 UNC Greensboro 1 box score  PHOTOS


Friday, April 18-at Earle Tennis Center at The Citadel

Match 3: #1 Furman 4 vs. #9 College of Charleston 0 Results PHOTOS

Match 4: #4 Appalachian State 4 vs. #5 Davidson 3  Results  PHOTOS

Match 5: #2 Elon 4 vs. #7 Georgia Southern 2  Results  PHOTOS

Match 6: #3 Wofford 4 vs. #6 The Citadel 3  Results


Saturday, April 19-at Earle Tennis Center at The Citadel

Match 7: #1 Furman 4 vs. #4 Appalachian State 0, 8:30 a.m. Results PHOTOS

Match 8: #2 Elon 4 vs. #3 Wofford 1, 10:30 a.m. Results  PHOTOS


Sunday, April 23-at Earle Tennis Center at The Citadel

Match 9: #1 Furman 4, #2 Elon 1 Results  PHOTOS


Directions to the Earle Tennis Center at The Citadel & Farmfield Tennis Center



The men’s tennis championship was first held in 1928 but no champion was crowned until North Carolina in 1933. In 1998, the






























































tournament changed from an individual scoring tournament to a team format. Chattanooga holds 12 tournament titles, followed by Furman with 11 and Davidson nine.  East Tennessee State won the 2005 championship, its third in four years. Chattanooga reached the final in 2005 as the seventh seed, the lowest seed to ever reach the final in the team tournament. Elon won its first tournament title and automatic bid to an NCAA championship in 2007 as a member of the Southern Conference.


CLICK HERE for a review of the 2007 championship, including photos and scores.


PAST CHAMPIONS (last 12 years)

Year          Site                          Champion

1994          Davidson, NC           Georgia Southern

1995          Davidson, NC           East Tennessee State

1996          Greenville, SC           East Tennessee State

1997          Davidson, NC           Furman

1998          Greenville, SC           Chattanooga

1999          Spartanburg, SC       East Tennessee State

2000          Chattanooga, TN       Chattanooga

2001          Charleston, SC         Furman

2002          Charleston, SC         East Tennessee State

2003          Charleston, SC         College of Charleston

2004          Charleston, SC         East Tennessee State

2005          Charleston, SC         East Tennessee State

2006          Charleston, SC         Furman

2007          Charleston, SC         Elon



SoCon Digital Network
Campus Corner
SALI 2015
Basketball (M)
The Starting Line - Asheville
Outdoor Track (M)
The Starting Line: The Citadel Track & Field
Basketball (M)
The Starting Line: Samford Men's Basketball
Connect with SoConSports