2019 MBK tourney
SoCon trio earns Lou Henson All-America honor
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Release: 03/29/2018
Print RSS
Furman's Devin Sibley
Courtesy: Furman Athletics

BOSTON – ETSU's Desonta Bradford, Furman's Devin Sibley and Wofford's Fletcher Magee were named to the Lou Henson All-America team, announced Wednesday.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I mid-major player.

Bradford, the league coaches’ pick as the 2017-18 Southern Conference Player of the Year, led the Buccaneers in multiple areas throughout the season and was in the top 10 in SoCon play in categories such as scoring (15.4 ppg), rebounding (5.8 rpg), assists (3.5 apg), steals (1.9 spg), and minutes played (32.6 mpg). Bradford and the Bucs enjoyed a successful season in 2017-18, going 25-9 overall and reaching the SoCon tournament title game for a third straight season.

Sibley, a first-team All-Southern Conference choice and first-team NABC All-District honoree this season, paced the Paladins, averaging 14.9 points per game and added 4.9 rebounds per contest. The Knoxville, Tenn., native finished his career ranked seventh in school history with 1,817 points and third with 210 3-point baskets.

Magee, the Malcolm U. Pitt (media) SoCon Player of the Year, led the conference in scoring all season, averaging 22.1 points per contest. Magee led the NCAA in total 3-pointers made with 148, fifth all-time in the NCAA Division I ranks for 3s in a single season. His 4.35 3s per game ranked second nationally, while he was seventh from the free-throw line, shooting 90.7 percent.

He scored 751 points in the 2017-18 season, 11th-most in the country, and set the Wofford record for points in a season. He also set the record for 3s made in a career and in a single season and currently sits in eighth place in program history in scoring (1,807).

Sibley and Magee both appeared on the preseason and midseason watch lists for the Lou Henson Award.

Bradford and Magee both earned Associated Press All-America honorable mention this week.

Lou Henson coached 41 years. When he left the game in 2005, he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The 2017-18 Lou Henson National Player of the Year Award will be announced on April 2 in San Antonio, Texas, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

Eligible players for the Lou Henson Award must compete in the following conferences or leagues: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Horizon, Independents, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, Southwestern, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast and Western Athletic.

The Lou Henson award committee is a 30-member panel, consisting of five current division I head coaches, five retired head coaches, 10 current athletic directors and/or conference administrators, five members of the national media and five staff members.


SoCon Digital Network
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Wofford
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Furman
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - Mercer
Basketball (M)
2018 Countdown to Tip Off - UNCG
Connect with SoConSports